When spouses, intimate partners, family members, roommates, or dates use threats, physical violence, harassment, emotional abuse, or stalking, or if they otherwise assert their power in an adverse manner to control the behavior of another person, then they can be found guilty of domestic violence. More often than not, women are the targets of domestic violence, but it is not uncommon for children who live in violent households to become victims themselves.
Technically speaking, domestic violence is a form of assault and battery. However, when assault and/or battery occurs between two people who supposedly share an intimate connection, Oklahoma takes a stricter stance. If you receive your first domestic violence charge, and if there exists no aggravating factors, the state may charge you with a misdemeanor. However, if you are charged with a second or subsequent offense and if there were aggravating factors, you may face felony domestic abuse charges. Both misdemeanor and felony offenses can have a lasting, negative impact on your personal, professional, and financial life. For this reason, if you face domestic violence charges, you should retain the help of an aggressive Tulsa domestic violence lawyer right away. Apart from specializing in domestic violence cases, BDIW also has experienced Personal Injury Lawyers in Tulsa to assist you in other personal injury-related matters. Contact BDIW Law now.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Tulsa
The consequences of a domestic violence conviction in Oklahoma vary depending on how many prior offenses a person has, the nature of the violence, and whether or not there were any aggravating factors. However, generally speaking, the state will punish an offender by issuing a sentence that includes up to one year in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000. For second or subsequent offenders, a domestic violence conviction can result in up to four years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
If the state determines that a person has a “prior pattern of physical abuse”—meaning he or she has been involved in three or more separate domestic abuse incidents, the state may charge him or her with a felony. A felony domestic violence conviction can result in up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
Our Team Is Here To Assist You Every Step Of The Way.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY TODAY
Factors That Elevate Domestic Violence Charges
You do not have to be a subsequent offender for the state to elevate your charges to felony charges. If certain factors exist, the state may elevate the crime to a felony. Some aggravating factors that may result in a felony charge are as follows:
- You caused an expectant mother to miscarry;
- You caused great bodily harm (broken bones, concussion, scars, etc.) to the victim; or
- You have a prior history of domestic violence.
If you are guilty of felony domestic violence, you should not try to defend your case on your own. Without proper representation, you risk up to 10 years in prison, hefty fines, and a damaged reputation.
Your Defense Begins With a Single Phone Call
If you were charged with domestic violence, do not risk your future by trying to defend your stance on your own. Reach out to a Tulsa domestic violence lawyer to discuss your case and your defense options. Contact our Oklahoma bicycle accident lawyers today to get started.
The Sooner We Get Involved, The More We Can Do To Help You.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY TODAY