If you get caught driving without insurance, you could get your driver’s license suspended, and you might even face criminal charges punishable by jail time. Oklahoma requires all drivers to carry liability insurance, but there is a good chance that at least one driver with whom you shared the road today did not have it.
Driving without insurance does not seem like such a big deal unless you get into a car accident or get pulled over at a traffic stop. Then you could get your driver’s license suspended, face criminal penalties, or both. The good news is that lawmakers in Oklahoma recognize that you might be driving without insurance simply because you did not have enough time or money to renew your policy before it expired. Therefore, they give you a temporary insurance policy and temporary license plate, which are valid for 10 days.
If you reinstate your policy within those 10 days, you can avoid civil and criminal penalties. If you have been injured in a car accident where one driver did not have insurance, contact a car accident lawyer at BDIW Law for help.
Oklahoma Insurance Requirements
To drive legally in Oklahoma, you must carry liability insurance coverage. Your insurance must cover at least $25,000 for property damage.
As for liability for accident-related injuries, it must cover at least $25,000 per person or at least $50,000 per accident. If your insurance expires, your insurance company will report the lapse in coverage to a statewide database.
Our Team Is Here To Assist You Every Step Of The Way.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY TODAY
Financial Consequences of Driving without Insurance in Oklahoma
If the police find out that your insurance has lapsed, you must pay a $250 fine. If the police found this out because you were involved in an accident, you must pay the fine immediately. If it was at a traffic stop, you have 10 days to reinstate your insurance before the fine is assessed.
After an accident, the police will suspend your driver’s license immediately and will impound your car. After a traffic stop, they will only suspend your license if you do not reinstate your insurance within 10 days.
How to Reinstate Your License
Reinstating your car insurance and driver’s license is not cheap. Besides paying for a new insurance policy, you must pay a $275 reinstatement fee to the DMV and a $125 administrative fee to the Sheriff’s Office in your county. If you lost your license because of getting in an accident while not carrying insurance, you can get a modified driver’s license for $175.
This license allows you just enough driving privileges to commute to and from work. The biggest financial hit you can face, however, is that the person you injured can sue you for their accident-related financial losses. Since you did not have insurance coverage, you are personally responsible for the injured person’s medical bills and vehicle repairs; the insurance company will not pay it for you.
Driving without insurance is a criminal misdemeanor in Oklahoma. If convicted, you could get a jail sentence of up to one year instead of or in addition to the $250 fine.
Civil Consequences of Driving without Insurance in Oklahoma
In addition to the criminal penalties associated with driving without a license, if you are struck by an uninsured driver, you may have the right to compensation for your damages. There are several ways in which injury victims may be able to hold uninsured or underinsured drivers accountable.
First, if you purchased no fault protection or personal injury coverage, you may be able to file a claim with your personal auto insurance provider. However, doing so will likely increase the amount you are required to pay premiums, so it may be in your best interest to explore additional opportunities for financial relief.
What if the Person Who Hit You Doesn’t Have Insurance?
Oklahoma is a fault state for motor vehicle accidents, so you should prepare to file a claim with the liable party’s insurance provider to recoup your losses. However, when the uninsured party does not have insurance, your opportunities will be limited. Instead of financing a company, you will file a civil lawsuit against them. This way, you are not stuck absorbing the cost of their negligence.
Instead, you can file a claim against them in civil court seeking total financial compensation for your damages. This does not only include reimbursement for your medical bills and vehicle repair costs but your emotional trauma, permanent disabilities, and physical pain and suffering as well.
Get A FREE No-Obligation Consultation Today!CONTACT US TODAY
Contact BDIW Law About Car Accidents with Uninsured Drivers
A car accident lawyer can help you if the driver who hit your car and caused your injuries did not have liability insurance. Contact BDIW Law in Oklahoma to schedule your 100% free, no-obligation consultation. You can fill out our quick contact form or call our office to get started on your case as soon as today.
The Sooner We Get Involved, The More We Can Do To Help You.SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY TODAY