Fighting DUI Charges In Oklahoma
Do you know what to expect from a drunk driving charge in Oklahoma? Before talking to the police or a prosecutor, make sure you understand how a driving under the influence (DUI) offenses are handled and why you should never accept a plea, even for a misdemeanor DUI.
At Boettcher, Devinney, Ingle & Wicker, in Ponca City, we want to change the way you think about criminal defense attorneys. We believe you deserve outstanding legal service for your dollar. We will take the time to communicate with you, and help you understand the strengths and weaknesses of your individual case. We will let you know what to expect and what your options are. We will also let you know what you should watch out for.
Sometimes clients come to us after working with another lawyer. We are often praised for the knowledge we give to our clients and our compassionate nature. One satisfied client told us, "I feel like you care about me."
We do not just plea for a fee. We fight to do what is right.
Are you looking for a DUI defense attorney who is invested in the outcome of your case? Start building your defense now. Call our firm at 580-789-4936 to schedule an appointment.
How We Build Your Drunk Driving Defense
With every DUI case that we handle, we look for problems with the underlying case. With every case we seek to uncover evidence that we can use to either have the charges dismissed.
How do we do it? We identify inconsistencies in the evidence against you. We will compare the police report with dashcam video. What story does the dashcam video tell? Was there probable cause to stop you? When it comes to protecting your constitutional rights, we don't back down.
Video evidence also enables us to look at other aspects of the case, such as the field sobriety test. Was it conducted properly?
After evaluating your case, we will give you our honest assessment of your case, your options and our recommendation for how to proceed.
Penalties For DUI In Oklahoma
The hardest part of any criminal defense charge is not knowing what to expect. The criminal penalties for DUI in Oklahoma are very serious; the penalties include:
- Underage drinking (BAC over .02 percent) — Drivers under the age of 21 are subject to Oklahoma's zero tolerance statute. This means that even if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .02 you will still be charged with a DUI.
- First offense, misdemeanor DUI (.08 percent BAC with no aggravating factors) — In addition to a mandatory chemical dependency assessment, you could face 10 days to a year in jail and a fine of $1,000.
- Second offense within 10 years, felony DUI — You must have a chemical dependency assessment and follow all recommendations. In addition, you could face between one and five years in prison and a fine of $2,500.
- Third or more offenses within 10 years, felony DUI — You must have a chemical dependency assessment and follow all recommendations. In addition, you could face between one and 20 years in prison and a fine of $5,000.
While the length of prison time may be reduced in some cases by agreeing to attend residential or impatient treatment, a person convicted of DUI cannot avoid jail time entirely.
Aggravating factors, such as having a BAC of .17 or higher can enhance the penalties.
In addition, a conviction for an alcohol-related offense carries other penalties. You can expect to pay significantly higher car insurance rates if you have a DUI on your record. If your drivers' license was suspended or revoked, there are high costs associated with having your license reinstated. Finally, having a DUI on your record may prevent you from obtaining certain kinds of work and could negatively impact your current job.
Do Not Lose Your License!
Regardless of whether you are facing your first DUI or you have had multiple offenses, your license will be suspended or revoked unless you take action immediately after being arrested. It is possible to retain your driving privileges, but there is a short window of time to fight your license suspension. Make sure you get in contact with a lawyer who can handle the administrative portion of your case. Suspension periods start at six months and get progressively longer with each subsequent offense.
Build Your Defense Early. Call Now To Protect Yourself.
The best way to beat a drunk driving charge is to talk to a lawyer as soon as possible. The police and prosecutor will try to get you to talk to them and may make it seem as if they are looking out for your best interests. Do not fall for it. They are looking for additional evidence to build their case against you.
Protect yourself by calling a DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible. Day or night, call our law office at 580-789-4936 for immediate assistance with your DUI charge.